I’m Still Here!

No, I didn’t escape to an exotic tropical island.  I wasn’t in a body cast or coma.  All I did was succumbed to everyday life.  I sat at my computer this morning , and I realized that nearly a week had gone by since my last post.  But what a wild week it’s been!  Here are a few things I’ve learned in the past 7 days:

  1. Technology is not my friend.  WiFi is great–when you can get it to work.  We have 3 computers and a printer all in one room (our school room), yet at varying times, one or the other won’t connect to the network or can’t communicate with the printer.  After many, many hours of trouble-shooting and experimenting, we’re no better off now than we were last week.  Battles with technology should not take up more time than the tasks for which you acquired the technology in the first place.
  2. Paint and primer in one is a fantasy…sometimes.  This past weekend seemed like a good time to paint.  I covered the gold in the family room with a lovely beige (Martha Stewart “Brown Alpaca”).  It went on nicely, and covered in one coat–in spite of the stupid textured swirls on our drywall.  Then I moved on to the kitchen.  I planned to cover the light butter yellow with a medium brown (Behr Premium Plus Ultra paint plus primer in one “New Chestnut”).  This time the coverage was terrible.  The entire room requires 2 coats on the walls and possibly 3 coats for the trim work with a brush.  Wouldn’t you think dark over light would be easier?  So my kitchen is still taken apart while I try to squeeze in a few hours here and there to finish the brush work.
  3. Just because you play by the rules doesn’t mean everyone else does…even those who make the rules.  I’m in the midst of my first legal battle over homeschooling.  It’s really a no-brainer issue in which the local school district has failed to abide by state law.  Homeschooling has been around and popular for a number of years now, and there are nearly 5000 homeschooling families in my state alone.  That’s why it’s tough for me to understand the foot-dragging, animosity, and even ignorance on the part of the powers that be.
  4. Women who “have it all” have not cornered the market on busy.  Just because I don’t have a full-time paying job outside the home does not mean I have nothing to do all day.  My full-time job is bringing up my kids, and right now that means educating them.  Most people outsource that job.  It’s not easy to coach essay writing or help with research or review biology terms while you are doing laundry, painting the kitchen, grocery shopping, making phone calls, bathing the dog, and so on.  Housewives are just as exhausted at the end of the day as work-force moms.
  5. Free healthcare..You get what you pay for.  I’ve mentioned this before.  Anyone who thinks that military families have it so easy because their healthcare is free should just try to get an appointment at a military clinic some time.  When you have an acute problem that needs attention but isn’t an emergency, you don’t want to hear, “I’m not showing any appointments for the next week.”  Budget cuts and deployed medical personnel have left military clinics understaffed and overcrowded with patients.  My only other option is to take that sprained ankle or sore throat to the emergency room if I don’t want to wait a week to see my primary care provider.  Wake up, America!  This is what’s in store for you, too, now that our President got his wish with healthcare reform.

A lot can happen in a week.  A lot that doesn’t seem like much until you add it all up. I wonder how long it would take me to figure out how to post on the blog from my iPhone.  Then I could be more productive as I’m being busy.  Hmmm…

Leave a comment

Filed under family

Leave a Reply

