A Little Rain

Image by Euromagic

“The best thing one can do when it’s raining is to let it rain.”  Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

The precipitation forecast map for the next 48 hours on weather.com shows better than half the country expecting rain.  (And a surprisingly large section of the continental US will see significant snow!)  So much for March going “out like a lamb.”  I’m OK with rain, for the most part.  I would like it a little more if the temperature was about 15 degrees warmer, but what can you do?  I would also be happier if we had a little more turf in the backyard and a lot less mud.  I can deal with wet paws on Uncommon Greyhound a lot better than muddy paws.  Again, what can you do?

On a rainy day, here’s what makes me happy:

Yep.  Rain boots.  I don’t know why I didn’t get a pair of these a long time ago.  These lovelies are about 2 years old, and I’m embarrassed to say I’m just now putting them to good use.  The British have been wearing rain boots for ages.  I spent a year over there, so I don’t know why I never adopted the habit.  Maybe it has something to do with not drawing attention to myself.  Regardless.  What a fool I’ve been, ruining perfectly good shoes or tiptoeing around puddles like I’m crossing a minefield.  Not anymore.  I can take a direct route right through the  parking lot in these babies.  The only free parking space is in a Lake Ontario size puddle?  No matter; I’ll take it.

You know those little kids that you see wearing rain boots all the time?  I think they are on to something.  My boots sort of empower me to take on the puddles, the sludge and mud, the general crappiness of rainy days.  What I need are rain boots for the rest of the time.  Not real rain boots, of course.  Maybe 3-inch heels or some really awesome, cute flats.  Something that will allow me to take on the malarkey that comes every day.  But they have to be comfortable and somewhat supportive.  I’m not a stick-thin 20-something, after all.  Any suggestions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

