Get to Know the Uncommonhousewife: What I Do Instead of Blogging

Once upon a time, Darling Husband explained to me that this time of year was referred to as the “Dark Ages” by his college classmates.  The weather typically was dark, cold, and dreary.  Spring seemed a long way off, as did Spring Break.  There was not much about the season to inspire.

So let’s just call this my Dark Ages of Blogging.  My posts have been coming few and far between.  My weeks seem to pass with a pronounced lack of inspiration lately.  Rather than post nothing at all, I’ve decided to let you in on what fills my time in lieu of blogging.

Books: There are always books.  But curling up under a down blanket with a book is exquisite activity for this time of year.  So what is on my pile of books?

     Yes, really.  Romance novels.  Smart women read them, too, you know.

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop TalkingQuiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking.  I may bow out of the neighbor’s Super Bowl party this weekend just to dive further into this one.

After America: Get Ready for ArmageddonI’m still pacing myself with this gem.  Hilarious and sobering at the same time.

 

Music: In my church, it truly has been what I call the Dark Ages of Hymnody.  The wretched Haugen and Haas have taken over the hymn boards.  I sing along unenthusiastically and then throw myself into searching YouTube for examples of great hymns.

“Come Down, O Love Divine”

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/6HPKL1wOVXk?rel=0” frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>iframe>

“Soul of My Saviour”

http://ahref=

General Time Wasting Educational Exploration on the Web: One thing always leads to another when reading the news or researching for a blog post.  My list of Favorites has grown a bit longer recently as I came across some informative but still highly enjoyable sites:

Oxford Words Blog

Young Fogeys

One of these days (hopefully soon), my cup will overflow with ideas for intelligent, informative posts.  If nothing else, I suppose I could enter the arena of political commentary.  (Heaven forbid!)  In the meantime, I hope you have enjoyed the peek behind the curtain.  And what a strange view: historical romances next to classic hymns!  Uncommon indeed.

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Get to Know the Uncommonhousewife: What I Do Instead of Blogging

  1. Annie

    Are you seriously reading the romance novels??! What brought this on?

  2. Shut up. It’s no different than “Twilight” or Chick Lit! Besides, you can only read so much serious fiction–collapse of civilization, concentration camp victims, etc.–without supplementing with fun stuff.

  3. Pingback: Presidential Politics and Romance Novels: A Treatise on Virtue | The Uncommonhousewife

Leave a Reply

